2023 Costco Advent Calendar Day 22 – Der Schwarze Bock (what I got stuck with)

While I should have gotten Kraftbierwerkstatt’s Black Forest on the 22nd day of  the Costco Kalea 2023 Beer Advent Calendar, what I ended up with instead is Der Schwarze Bock a dark Bock beer at 6.2% ABV.  The beer is produced by Kraftbierwerkstatt of Böblingen, Germany, which is about 15 miles southwest of Stuttgart.  This beer made its debut and was the fifth beer in the 2021 Costco Beer Advent Calendar and was also the 19th beer in the 2022 calendar – where you can read about the beer, the brewery, and other nearby breweries in my post from last year.

Anyway, back to the beer!

Day 22 of the 2023 Costco Beer Advent Calendar

Day 22 of the 2023 Costco Beer Advent Calendar –

I have enjoyed this beer the past two years it was in the calendar. but I was hoping that I would get Kraftbierwerkstatt’s Black Forest this year for variety.  So, I’m not thrilled I got this today and, if I am to be honest, since I will be having a repeat tomorrow instead of the new Aldersbacher Urhell and a repeat with the last beer of the calendar, I’m really ready for the calendar to be done this year.  It was very disappointing that Kalea could not get these new beers approved in all states where it was possible (like mine).  I will state again – had I known that if I was only going to get three new beers out of the 24 in this year’s calendar, I would not have bought my usual two calendars this year.  And I can definitively state that because of the contents of the calendar I bought this year, I will buy only one calendar next year/  And if I’m not convinced that I will be getting contents that make it worth my while to purchase, I may pass entirely and permanently end my support of the beer advent calendar.

The Kraftbierwerkstatt is located at

Otto-Lilienthal-Str. 24
Böblingen, 71034
Germany

Schönbuch Braumanufaktur GmbH & Co. KG is located atPostplatz 6
Böblingen, 71032
Germany

Other beer site links for this beer and brewery:

https://www.beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/46029/

https://www.beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/46029/453249/

https://untappd.com/w/kraftbierwerkstatt/221110

https://untappd.com/b/kraftbierwerkstatt-der-schwarze-bock/3458155

https://www.beertasting.com/de-de/biere/bock/dunkler-bock/kraftbierwerkstatt-der-schwarze-bock-dose~b2524497

This entry was posted in 2023, Beer, Bock, Costco Advent Calendar, Costco Advent Calendar and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment