Batch 131: Kellerbier (all-grain)

Holiday weekends are usually convenient times to brew.  Fourth of July weekend of 2016 was no difference.  For this batch, I decided to make an all-grain version of the Kellerbier I had previously made.  Perfect for summer, it would be ready to drink relatively quickly after a short lagering period and without needing to filter it prior to kegging.

The recipe included the following ingredients purchased at the local homebrew store:

  • 8.0 pounds of Pilsner malt
  • 1.0 pounds Muncih Malt (light)
  • 4 ounces Aromatic Malt
  • 2.0 ounces of Saaz hops (3.0% alpha acid)
  • 2.0 ounces of Hallertau hops (2.5% alpha acid)
  • 2 packets SafLager W-34/70 yeast

The brewing ingredients:

Kellerbier ingredients

Kellerbier ingredients

My targets, based on Brew Pal, are:

  • Original Gravity:  1.048
  • Final Gravity:  1.011
  • ABV:  4.9%
  • 33 IBU
  • 5.4 Lovibond

I was very pleased with the mash, but again, disappointed that the homebrew store owner crushed the grain too fine.  I’d prefer to have fewer pieces pulled through the false bottom in the mash tun into my brew pot.

First Runnings

But the color was nice!

For Father’s Day, my wife and daughters demanded I buy myself a smoker.  So this was the first weekend I put it though its paces.  Since I have a tendency to foolishly over-extend myself multi-tasking, I decided to smoke a small pork shoulder (prior to doing several slabs of ribs for July 4th) while I boiled my wort.

Smoking and Brewing

Beer in the front, smoker in the back.

The pork shoulder came out awesome by the way.

smoked-pork-shoulder

Not bad for a first attempt!

I nailed my targets, with a starting gravity of 1.048.  When I transferred the beer to secondary two weeks after the brew date, the gravity was at 1.012.  The final gravity was 1.010 when I kegged the beer two weeks after that.

Kellerbier

First draft of the Kellerbier

This was also, conveniently, about the time that Weihenstephan had released 1516, so I had a very good example to compare my beer against.  The 1516 was spectacular.  Mine was merely extremely good to excellent.  But I was pleased with how it compared!

Weihenstephaner 1516

Weihenstephaner 1516

There was also a local brewery that served their Kellerbier at a local Oktoberfest event.  It was very good – but I liked mine better!

Bierkeller Columbia Kellerbier

Bierkeller Columbia Kellerbier

This entry was posted in All-grain Brewing, Homebrewing, Kegging, Kellerbier and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Batch 131: Kellerbier (all-grain)

  1. Pingback: Batch 132: Festbier (all-grain) | Daj Mi Pivo

Leave a Reply

