Batch 123 – Oktoberfest Märzen (All-Grain)

So about 10 days after brewing the Hefeweizen, it was time to make the next batch for a possible Oktoberfest party.  This batch would be a classic Märzen Oktoberfest beer.

My original plan was to brew this in March, but I didn’t get around to it until July.  I developed this all-grain based on previous my previous extract and grain recipe that is adapted and modified from the Hacker-Pschorr Oktoberfest clone recipe from page 142 in Beer Captured.  This recipe includes:

  • 9.5 pounds of Munich Malt (10°)
  • 0.5 pound Cara-Pils Malt
  • 0.5 pound Cara-Munich Malt
  • 2 ounces Aromatic Malt
  • 2 ounces Biscuit Malt
  • 0.75 ounces Hallertau Hops (3.8%)
  • 0.75 ounces Tettnang Hops (6.1% alpha acid)
  • 1 packs SafLager W34/70 Yeast
iPhone_08152015 148

Batch 123 – Oktoberfest

My targets, based on Brew Pal, are:

  • Original Gravity:  1055
  • Final Gravity:  1012
  • ABV:  5.6%
  • 25 IBU
  • 14.0 Lovibond

I made probably the dumbest mistake out of all the all-grain batches I have brewed so far on this batch.  I heated the strike water, put it in my mash tun, doughed in the grain….

…and realized I hadn’t put the false bottom in the mash tun.  Later, after I cooled the wort and was taking a gravity reading, I broke my  hydrometer.

Yeah, it was that kind of day.

HomerSimpson-Doh1

No further explanation needed.

The original gravity came out at 1.052, slightly below the target of 1.055.  The final gravity prior to kegging as 1.014, so I was slightly above that, as well.  Transferring it to secondary, I was pleased with the color and the taste.

2015_11_25_iPhone 040

Nice color – about what I expected

 

 

This entry was posted in All-grain Brewing, Homebrewing, Märzen, Oktoberfest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Batch 123 – Oktoberfest Märzen (All-Grain)

  1. Pingback: Batch 125 – Munich Dunkel Lager (All-Grain) | Daj Mi Pivo

  2. Pingback: Batch 133 – Oktoberfest Märzen (all-grain) | Daj Mi Pivo

Leave a Reply

