Batch 102 – Fest Bier

I have a little catching up to do.  When the weather warms up, I turn my attention to getting the yard and the garden squared away.  I built two retaining walls for garden beds on the garage side of the house and have been slowly whipping the landscaping into shape so I don’t have so much work to do outside when the temperatures climb into the 100’s.

Which, given South Carolina, should be any day now.

Anyway, this batch is a repeat of my original Fest Bier recipe made last year.

This batch, which was brewed on April 28, 2013 consists of the following ingredients:

  • 1 pound of Munich Malt
  • 1/2 pound of Carapils Malt
  • 1/2 pound of Honey Malt
  • 6 pounds of Pilsen Light Dry Malt Extract
  • 2 ounces Hallertau Hops (3.8%)
  • 1 ounce Saaz Hops (3.0%)
  • Saflager W-34/70 yeast

I am really pleased with the Saflager W-34/70 yeast.  It ferments completely (my final gravity was 1010) and really doesn’t need much in the way of a diacetyl rest (though I give it one anyway).

The brew day went smoothly and today I transferred it to secondary fermentation and put it to lager.

As usual, I sampled the goods during transfer.  It was good, though the Honey Malt was significantly less pronounced than in the last batch – almost to the point of not being there.  Maybe lagering will bring it forward in the flavor profile.

I also filtered, kegged and began carbonating my Maibock.  With Memorial Day weekend coming up next week, I didn’t want to run out of the Czech Pilsner (which has improved and clarified nicely after kegging).

Tienisté Miesto ran out recently.  It will be missed.  My Schwarzbier, Čierna Mačka, is still hanging on by her front paws.  Every time I pull a draft, I expect it to be my last.

The brewing calendar has slipped due to the shift in focus on landscaping and gardening.   Though I got the Festbier made, there just wasn’t time to get the Kölsch made.  And seeing as how I am running out of May, I still haven’t brewed either the Dunkelweizen or the Helles Lager (though I *do* have next weekend.  Hmmmm).

With June around the corner, the plan is to brew a Kellerbier – which I have never made before.  I have to do some research before I even formulate my recipe.  So throw that log onto the fire.

I think the plan going forward is to put up a hefeweizen and/or dunkelweizen for the summer.  As ales, they will have a quick fermentation time and as wheat beers, I don’t have to screw with filtering them.  Once those are done, I think I may just go straight to the Helles – though that would also be for Oktoberfest in September.

And looking forward to July, I have yet another style I haven’t brewed before on the calendar:  Weizenbock.

I guess once spring hits, the brewmaster’s thoughts turn to beer for the Fall!

This entry was posted in Fest Bier, Homebrewing, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Batch 102 – Fest Bier

  1. Pingback: Batch 103 – Hefeweizen | Daj Mi Pivo

  2. Pingback: Batch 132: Festbier (all-grain) | Daj Mi Pivo

Leave a Reply

