Batch 91: Festbier

OK.  I’m a little bit out of order with the batches I have posted at.  I brewed this before either the Dampfbier or the Hefeweizen.  I let it lager longest and kegged and tapped it last, so that’s the reason it is out of order.

I brewed this batch on May 27, 2012 over Memorial Day weekend.  My goal was to create a beer similar to those served in Munich at the Oktoberfest.  If you read my post about the Paulaner Oktoberfest Wiesn beer, you would remember that I know from personal experience that the traditional Märzen style that we see every Fall is not what is served in the tents in Munich.

This batch consists of the following ingredients:

  • 1 pound of Munich Malt
  • 1/2 pound of Carapils Malt
  • 1/2 pound of Honey Malt
  • 6 pounds of Pilsen Light Dry Malt Extract
  • 2 ounces Hallertau Hops (3.8%)
  • 1 ounce Saaz Hops (3.0%)
  • Saflager W-34/70 yeast

The honey malt added a nice sweetness to the beer.
I transferred the beer to secondary fermentation on June 16 and lagered it until October 5 when I filtered, kegged and gassed the air space in top of the cornelius keg.  I began carbonating with my carbonating stone/keg lid on October 27.

I am really pleased with how it came out:  about 6.1% ABV, very gold and tasty!!

This entry was posted in Fest Bier, Homebrewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Batch 91: Festbier

  1. Pingback: Batch 101 – Märzen (Oktoberfest) | Daj Mi Pivo

  2. Pingback: Batch 132: Festbier (all-grain) | Daj Mi Pivo

Leave a Reply

